Pigeon Lake Sunset

My family and I are in Ontario visiting my folks. We are staying on Pigeon Lake, just outside of Peterborough. Last night’s sunset was pretty spectacular and I managed to find a public access point to the lake right in the perfect line of the setting sun. For this shot I used my grad ND filter, which helps you to be able to expose the foreground and brighter background properly in the same shot. The grad ND also gives the very top part of the clouds a darker and meaner look, which I like. I used a small aperture to give the picture plenty depth of field. My white balance was set to cloudy to make sure that the warmth of the colors I was seeing in the sky came through in the exposure. I think I took 25-30 pictures. This is the exposure I like best out of the bunch. Was such a lovely evening. IMG_0623

This entry was posted in Nature Shots, Photos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

