Lightning in the Canyon

We recently visited some friends of ours in Drumheller, Alberta. During the day, they showed us around the canyon area – lots of great places to visit and photograph. That evening my friend and I went back to this location (Horse Thief Canyon) and we were treated to a spectacular lightning storm. This was my first real attempt at capturing lightning with a camera. It was extremely difficult. I won’t tell you how many tries it took to get a decent shot. The wind was absolutely howling so I had to hang on tight to my tripod the whole time or else my camera would have been on the ground very quickly. This made it impossible to get a real crisp shot, but I’m happy with the results nonetheless. If you’ve never visited the area, it’s worth the drive. You can hike down into this canyon and explore until heart’s content. This was shot at f/6.3, 0.6s, ISO800.
IMG_0611

This entry was posted in Nature Shots, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

